Top 18 Countries & World’s Top 10 Commit To Play 2020 ATP Cup

The ATP has today announced the Top 18 countries in the ATP Cup Standings and Australia, host wild card, as qualifiers for the inaugural ATP Cup, to be held from 3-12 January in Brisbane, Perth and Sydney.

Every member of the Top 10 in the ATP Rankings — including Serbia’s Novak Djokovic, Spain’s Rafael Nadal and Switzerland’s Roger Federer — and 27 of the Top 30 have committed to play at the ATP Cup, which will serve as the spectacular launch of the 2020 ATP Tour season. In addition, Andy Murray qualifies Great Britain by virtue of his Protected Ranking of 2.

View Updated Standings, Qualified Teams & Committed Players

Chris Kermode, ATP Executive Chairman and President, said: “We’re delighted to see such a star-studded player field lining up for the inaugural ATP Cup. Our belief was that week one in the calendar, together with Tennis Australia, would work best for player scheduling, and today’s announcement is a confirmation of that. Having the top players competing in this new global event is critical, and the ATP Cup looks set to kick off the ATP Tour season in a big way in 2020.”

Craig Tiley, Tennis Australia CEO, said: “This is an incredibly exciting time for tennis fans. We are thrilled with the amazing support the ATP Cup has attracted from the players. This event will globally launch the tennis season in a manner that will enthrall fans and entice the next generation to our sport. January can’t come quick enough.”


CountryTop 2-Ranked Players (as of 13 September 2019)
1) SerbiaNovak Djokovic, Dusan Lajovic
2) SpainRafael Nadal, Roberto Bautista Agut
3) SwitzerlandRoger Federer, Henri Laaksonen
4) RussiaDaniil Medvedev, Karen Khachanov
5) AustriaDominic Thiem, Dennis Novak
6) GermanyAlexander Zverev, Jan-Lennard Struff
7) GreeceStefanos Tsitsipas, Michail Pervolarakis
8) JapanKei Nishikori, Yoshihito Nishioka
9) ItalyFabio Fognini, Matteo Berrettini
10) FranceGael Monfils, Benoit Paire
11) BelgiumDavid Goffin, Steve Darcis
12) CroatiaBorna Coric, Marin Cilic
13) ArgentinaDiego Schwartzman, Guido Pella
14) GeorgiaNikoloz Basilashvili, Aleksandre Metreveli
15) South AfricaKevin Anderson, Lloyd Harris
16) United StatesJohn Isner, Taylor Fritz
17) CanadaFelix Auger-Aliassime, Milos Raonic
18) Great BritainAndy Murray, Kyle Edmund
WC) AustraliaNick Kyrgios, Alex de Minaur

The top two players for each country are committed to play, subject to change based on the ATP Rankings at the second entry deadline on 13 November, when remaining team members (up to an additional three players) will gain acceptance. Additionally, on that date, a further five countries will qualify to complete at the 24-country ATP Cup based on the ranking of their No. 1 singles player.

The group stages of the AU $22 million/US $15 million ATP Cup, which is being staged in partnership with Tennis Australia, will be hosted in Brisbane, Perth and Sydney over six days. Eight countries will then play at the ATP Cup Final Eight in Sydney that will feature quarter-finals over two days, semi-finals and a final. Each tie will comprise of two singles and one doubles match.

Countries will be drawn into one of six groups on Monday, 16 September, during a ceremony at the Sydney Opera House, with the full schedule for all six days of group play available later in the day. Fans will be able to buy tickets when the public sale opens on Wednesday, 18 September. You can watch a live stream of Monday’s draw on the ATP Cup’s Facebook page.

Scroll Up